ODOT asks for comments on Dresden Bridge

ODOT asks for comments on Dresden Bridge

DRESDEN – The Ohio Department of Transportation is seeking written public comment on the Ohio 208 Suspension Bridge in Dresden by Feb. 25.

The bridge was built in 1914 and bypassed in 1989 with the realignment of Ohio 208. It hasn’t been functional for some time and was last serviced in 1997, ODOT said. The existing structure is in poor condition with deteriorating concrete, holes in the bridge deck and steel corrosion. The bridge remains closed to pedestrians due to the severely deteriorated substructure and superstructure elements that have rusted.

The ODOT estimated that operating as a pedestrian facility would cost approximately $6 million. Costs to allow the structure to remain in place without live loads are estimated at $3.6 million. The demolition of the bridge would cost between 1 and 2 million dollars. Based on cost and maintenance requirements, demolition is considered the most prudent.

Written comments can be sent to Ty Thompson at [email protected]

The Franklin Schools BOE will meet

DUNCAN FALLS – The Franklin Local Schools Board of Education will meet in regular session at 6:30 p.m. on February 17 at the Administration Center, 360 Center Street, Duncan Falls. The meeting will include a public hearing regarding the school calendar.

Zanesville Schools Set Meeting Schedule

ZANESVILLE — The Zanesville City Schools Board of Education will meet in regular session at 6 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month at the Administrative Center, 956 Moxahala Ave. The exception is the February meeting on February 17.

Locals succeed at MU

NEW CONCORD – Local students were recently named to Muskingum University’s fall semester deans list.

The students were Madison Ross from Blue Rock; Logan Wickham of Chandlersville; Morgan Anderson of Dresden; Maria Lollini of Hopewell; Maya Dickson of Nashport; Danielle Baker, Chase Crawford, Mikayla Deiotte, Abigail Dickson, Mackenzie Garber, Audrey Hague, Isaac Harmon, Bernard Johnson, Chase Karling, Lyndi Slack, Alyssa Taylor, Ashlyn Yarger and Letong Zhang of New Concord; Emilee Neff, Chelsea Phillips, Breanne Wilkins and Brooke Wilkins from Norwich; TJ Bellerive, Hannah Dodd, Amanda Farley, Paige Hannum, Shelly Irvin, Reily Jacobs Bell, Sydney Joseph, Peyton Joy, Aleah Karr, Halayna Nichols, Hannah Ogilbee, Meranda Romine, Audrey Rose, Karlee Ryan, Anna Sellers, Jessica Smith, Cloey Stanbery, Reagan Stotts, Jacob Untied, Vincent Vaughn and Braeden Young of Zanesville; Ashley Allen and Paige Emory of Crooksville; Lia Buckley of Junction City; Samuel Wilson and Stephen Wilson of Malta; Christopher Brison of Mount Perry; Audra Wills from Somerset; and Danielle Konkler of Stockport.

Comments are closed.